Using Props in Underwater Shoots

Props in an image can be used to tell a story or assist in setting the tone and mood of a moment.  In one shoot in particular, Within a Dream, I utilized props to help tell this story.  I would like to share the production process I went through while picking the props I used for this shoot.

First off, when dealing with any prop for an underwater photo shoot, there are a few questions that you have to ask before you use it:

  •    Does it sink or float in water?
  •    What it is made of?
    Will the water and or the heat of the water (90 degrees) affect the prop?  Is it glued together?  The glue may start to dissolve after some time in the warm water.
  •    How will is read in water?
    Anytime you you are taking a 2-D image of a 3-D object, you should think about how it will read.  Will your viewer understand what it is?  Does it have to be at a certain angle for that to happen?

My first props that I found at a prop shop were plastic hallow seagulls.  A flash of inspiration came to me when I saw them.  I want them floating in the water like they are flying around my model.  Flying underwater, just like a dream.

Seagulls-WHB
I
 tested them in the water, and as I thought, they wanted to float.  I have a couple 8 lb hand weights that I put at the bottom of the pool.  I attached fishing line to the weights and to the seagulls at the height I wanted them to float in the water.  Done.  The floated around with movement in the water, but basically stayed put.  My model, Iara Mandyn, was able to swim around and interact with them while shooting.

My next prop I found was a clock that was designed to look like an oversize pocket watch.  I found it at the Pasadena Rose Bowl Flea Market- great place for props!  The clock was slowly filling up with water as we shot and therefore getting heavier and heavier for the model to hold.  We had to work quickly to get the shot and move on.  In the close up, you can see a faint line under the 3 and 9.  That is the water level.  I ended up really liking that small detail for the concept of my image, so I left that showing.  Otherwise I would have photoshopped it out.
Iara-clock1 Screen Shot 2015-03-25 at 10.53.22 AM

I had a similar issue with this old railroad lantern that I found in an antique shop in Carpinteria.  It was getting very heavy for my model, Karin Giron, to hold in front of herself as it filled with water.  Her long gown was also a little difficult to handle, so there was a lot to juggle in this shot.  I wanted the lantern to look lit, so I ended up creating a little glow in photoshop.  It was much more efficient then lighting it in the pool.
Lantern-WHB  

Next up was the bed.  I decided to use only the bed frame and a sheet.  I didn’t want to use a mattress since dragging a water logged mattress out of the pool was not something I wanted to experience.  I felt that the sheet would give a better look and flow to the image.  The bed frame was rented from the Sony prop house.  It was a simple metal design where the joints fell into place so there was no drilling needed and no wood or glue to deal with.  It stayed put on the bottom of the shallow end on it own, so it was a pretty straightforward prop to shoot while creating a great atmosphere for my scene.
Bed-WHB

 

I hope these little tips were interesting and helpful.  Here are some behind the scenes stills and videos of our shoot:

BTS-BedProps BTS-BedProps2

 

 

THE OFFICIAL BEHIND THE SCENES VIDEO

 

WWW.MALLORYMORRISON.COM

Leave a comment